In Memoriam


Russell Cunliffe


David Jones

Since joining Powerhouse in 1971 David has enjoyed about 30 acting & directing roles, and supervised 2 theatre expansions/renovations.   He won the ’96 Eric Hamber trophy for service to theatre in B.C. David, was a life member of Powerhouse and he devoted the last 44 years of his life to making this building a better place.  He gave us his wisdom, his humour and  experience, and he left us with policies to guide us when we get lost. Because of his love and dedication to the Powerhouse, his energy and spirit will live on. David died in a fall from his sailboat, another of his passions, on May 21 2015


Dennis Learey

After giving a lifetime of service and dedication to amateur theatre, Dennis Learey was awarded a Life Membership in the Powerhouse Theatre.

Dennis died in Vancouver in May 2015.


Peter Loster


John Sherwood

Emigrated to Canada in 1980 with his wife Mary, to retire. He and Mary joined Powerhouse Theatre soon after their arrival. While Mary helped out sewing costumes, working on set decor, house and box office when Powerhouse sold its own own tickets,  John helped with set construction and with the re-modelling of the upper dressing room. He was Treasurer of TAC for 19 years. John died on April 3rd, 2010.


Nancy Siver

Founding member & Life member. Nancy died on April 24th, 2012.


Penny Thorburn

A member since 1974, her acting credits include: You Can’t Take it With You (2007), Black Comedy (1974), Last of the Red Hot Lovers (1975), A day in the Death of Joe Egg (1976), Aladdin (1976), Last Wednesday (1978), Blithe Spirit (1978), No Sex Please, We’re British (1981), Babes in the Magic Wood (1983). Penny directed Chinamen (1982) and has many technical credits also. Penny died on Dec 29th, 2009.


Back to top