May 11th- May 17th, 2008
Centennial Theatre

Armstrong, BC

Hosted by: Asparagus Community Theatre
Festival Chair: Dai Scott

Each evening’s performance includes a brief public adjudication.
Adjudicator for the week: Barbara Wheeldon

Line-up of Plays

Sunday, May 11 “Sisters” by Wendy Lill Asparagus Community Theatre, Armstrong
Monday, May 12 “The Park Bench” by Carla Krens Sicamous Amateur Drama Club
Tuesday, May 13 “Wit” by Margaret Edson Powerhouse Theatrical Society, Vernon
Wednesday, May 14 “Dancock’s Dance” by Guy Vanderhaeghe Shuswap Theatre, Salmon Arm
Thursday, May 15 “Opening Night” by Norm Foster Theatre Kelowna Society
Friday, May 16 “Love Letters” by A.R. Gurney Summerland Singers & Players
Saturday, May 17 Awards Banquet & Dance

2008 Festival Results

Best Production: Wit, Powerhouse Theatrical Society (Awarded Bill Allum Cup)

Best Director: Adele Kuyek, Wit, Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Best Actress: Terri Flanagan, Wit, Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Best Actor: Bob Sterling, Opening Night, Theatre Kelowna Society

Best Supporting Actress: Aileen Brand, Sisters, Asparagus Community Theatre

Best Supporting Actor: Peter Buxton-Carr, Dancock’s Dance, Shuswap Theatre Society

Best Set Design: Ray Morden and Andrew Powell, Opening Night, Theatre Kelowna Society

Best Lighting: George Young, Sisters, Asparagus Community Theatre

Best Sound:  Kim Sinclair, Sisters, Asparagus Community Theatre

Best Costumes: Ellen Gonella, Dancock’s Dance, Shuswap Theatre Society

Best Props: Sisters, Asparagus Community Theatre

Best Ensemble: Opening Night, Theatre Kelowna Society

Best Newcomer: Deb Nicholson, Opening Night, Theatre Kelowna Society (The Wilson-Riley Memorial Award donated by Kitty Wilson)

Best Backstage Cooperation: Opening Night, Theatre Kelowna Society (Presented by the Festival Stage Manager)

Ozzie Award: Jake Jacobson of Shuswap Theatre Society (Presented by the Okanagan Zone)

Stephen Heal Memorial Scholarship: Scott Livingstone of Theatre Kelowna Society

Adjudicator’s Merit Awards

  • Best Runner-up: Sisters, Asparagus Community Theatre
  • Special Mention: Love Letters, Summerland Singers & Players
  • New Zone Player: The Park Bench, Sicamous Amateur Drama Club
  • Special Mention: Marcus Smith, Dancock’s Dance, Shuswap Theatre Society
  • Best Sustained Monologue: Stephen Hiscock, Dancock’s Dance, Shuswap Theatre Society
  • Best Morning Workshop: Dancock’s Dance, Shuswap Theatre Society

Stage Manger’s Special Award – ‘COOLEST” Backstage Group: – Sicamous Amateur Drama Club (Presented by the Festival Stage Manager)

Get on Our Mailing List