2015 – 2016 Season

About The Play

Two cops. Three crooks. Eight doors. Go. In a cheap motel room, an embezzling mayor is supposed to meet with his female accountant, while in the room next door, two undercover cops wait to catch the meeting on videotape. But there’s some confusion as to who’s in which room, who’s being videotaped, who’s taken the money, who’s hired a hit man, and why the accountant keeps taking off her clothes.

DatesApril 27 - May 7, 2016
DirectorMatt Brown, Kristine Larsen (Mentee)
  • Producer

    Sherry Moir

  • Producer

    Joan Karstensen

  • Administrative Producer Mentee

    Peter Wiebe


Eric SheridanMatthew Dobson
Billie DwyerJo Dixon
Karen BrownTanya Laing Gahr
Mayor MeeklyKelly Winston
Agent FrankBrent Raymond
ToddGabriel Newman
Mary MeeklyTherese Parent


Set DesignEugene Leveque
Light DesignCara Nunn
Sound DesignBob Oldfield
Costume DesignRhonda Nicholas
Stage ManagerDeb Martin
Assistant Stage ManagersSarah McLean, Sherry Moir
Sound OperatorSpencer Freeman-Marsh
Lighting OperatorMegan Van Der Maagdenberg
Set Construction HeadGord Bannerman
Set Construction CrewGene Leveque, Bob Rinaldi, Bob Spearman, Dick Evans, John Ravensbergen, Dave Brotsky, Brian Freeman-Marsh, Peter Wiebe
Set Décor HeadArlene Spearman
Set Décor CrewHelene Clark, Sharon Wickstrom, Trish Bennett, Regina Picco, Laura Wright, Shirley Rosin, Deb Bolton, Sarah McLean
Props HeadMaureen Ruscheinsky
Props CrewSue Johnson, Jean Given, Maureen Ruscheinsky
HairSuzanne Robert
Marketing and PublicityBarb Keith
ProgramCarol Marks
PhotographerCara Nunn
PreviewVal Heuman
FoyerJoyce and Jim Elderton
Foyer Bar ManagerRon Heuman
House ManagerAnn Cordingley
Opening Night ReceptionRuth Astin, Lorraine Allum
Final Matinee Cast DinnerDebra Bob
Final NightCathie Stewart

This production went to the Okanagan Zone Festival in Oliver, May 21 – 27th 2016 and were presented with the following Awards.

2016 Okanagan Zone Awards – Winners and Sponsors

Adjudicator’s Merit Award
For team building, mentoring and community engagement
– Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Best Newcomer
Sponsored by Dick Clements
– Jo Dixon as Billie – Unnecessary Farce, Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Best Ensemble
Sponsored by Bumbershoot Theatre
– The Entire Cast & Crew – Unnecessary Farce, Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Best Costume Design
Sponsored by Penticton Chamber Theatre
– Rhonda Nicholas – Unnecessary Farce, Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Best Set Design
Sponsored by Summerland Singers and Players
– Eugene Leveque & Team – Unnecessary Farce, Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Best Actress
Sponsored by Rutland Design & Construction
– Tanya Laing Gahr as Karen – Unnecessary Farce, Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Best Runner Up Production
Sponsored by Century 21 Amos Realty, Oliver
– Unnecessary Farce, Powerhouse Theatrical Society

Unnecessary Farce Poster

Production Photos